The California minimum wage will increase in two steps beginning in July 2014. The current $8.00 per hour rate will increase as follows:
- to $9.00 per hour as of July 1, 2014, and
- to $10.00 per hour as of Jan. 1, 2016.
The bill passed both the Senate and Assembly, and Gov. Jerry Brown has said he will sign it.
We will publish an updated California labor law poster including the new minimum wage poster when the California Department of Industrial Relations issues the poster.
California is also expecting a change to its Notice to Employer of Injury poster (workers compensation), possibly by the end of the year. You can make it easy to keep track of all of these changes by signing up for our Free Labor Law Update Notification. We will notify you by e-mail as soon as the new workers compensation and minimum wage posters are issued.
To learn about our OneSystem 1-Year Compliance Plan with free automatic updates or for more information about the CA labor law poster, go to the Poster Compliance Center California labor law poster page or call 1-800-322-3636.
9/25/13 UPDATE: Governor Brown signed the CA minimum wage increase (Assembly Bill 10) into law today.