As of October 1, 2021, Nevada employers must display two new labor law posters covering workers’ leave rights and job training opportunities. Here’s what you need to know.
Nevada Caregiver Sick Leave Law (AB 190)
Nevada’s new caregiver sick leave law, AB 190, gives employees the right to use any accrued sick leave to assist a member of their immediate family who has an illness, injury, medical appointment, or other authorized medical needs. This right extends to the same extent and under the same conditions as if it were the employee taking the leave. “Immediate family” means the employee’s child, foster child, spouse, domestic partner, sibling, parent, parents-in-law, grandchild, grandparent, stepparent, and any person for whom the employee is the legal guardian.
Nevada Job Training Law (AB 307)
The Nevada Department of Employment, Training, and Rehabilitation (DETR) provides job training and employment services. AB 307 requires Nevada employers to post and maintain notices about DETR’s job training services or employment programs, including the Career Enhancement Program and Nevada JobConnect.
Other New Nevada Labor Law Posters for 2021
These new labor law posting requirements are in addition to two other posting requirements that already went into effect earlier in 2021.
- Nevada Minimum Wage Law: The Nevada minimum wage increased to $8.75 per hour for employees who receive qualifying health benefits. It rose to $9.75 per hour for employees who don’t receive these health benefits.
- Nevada COVID-19 Vaccine Leave Requirement: The Nevada Rules to be Observed by Employers Bulletin and law SB 209 specify that employers must provide employees with 2 to 4 hours of paid leave to obtain a COVID-19 vaccination. This applies to private employers that have been operating for at least two years and have 50 or more employees. If the employee is receiving a one-dose vaccine, the employer must provide two consecutive hours of paid leave. If a two-dose vaccine is being administered on two separate occasions, the employer must provide a total of 4 hours of paid leave (two consecutive hours for each vaccine). This requirement does not apply to employers that provide a vaccination clinic on-site during the regular work hours of the employee. Employees must give at least 12 hours of notice before using the leave allowance. The COVID-related paid leave requirement expires on December 31, 2023.
How Nevada Employers Can Comply With These New Labor Law Posting Requirements
All businesses in Nevada must display the new posters along with other required postings in a conspicuous location within the workplace where you normally post notices to applicants and employees.
If you need help keeping up-to-date with your Nevada labor law posting requirements, turn to us for help. Check out the Poster Compliance Center website for more details, and get in touch if you have any questions.