POSTER COMPLIANCE CENTER

Annual Minimum Wage Adjustment for New Jersey

Every January 1, New Jersey’s minimum wage rate is subject to an adjustment based on inflation, and the state’s Department of Labor and Workforce Development issues an updated Wage and Hour Law Abstract.

Details of the Wage and Hour Law

Minimum Wage

Effective January 1, 2018, the minimum wage rate in New Jersey will increase from $8.44 to $8.60 per hour.

Minimum Wage Exemptions

Employees who are exempt from New Jersey’s minimum wage include full-time students who are employed by the college/university at which they are enrolled (at not less than 85% of the minimum wage), outside salespeople, part-time employees who care for children in an employer’s home, and some minors under the age of 18.

Overtime

As per the Fair Labor Standards Act, overtime in New Jersey is payable at a rate of 1.5 times an employee’s regular hourly rate for work that exceeds 40 hours in a week.

Overtime Exemptions

Workers in the state who are exempt from the overtime rule include executive, administrative, and professional employees; farm laborers, including those who raise or care for livestock; and bus drivers.

Compliance Made Easy

If you order our OneSystem 1-Year Compliance Plan, you will automatically receive the updated New Jersey poster as soon as it becomes available. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the 12-month period, you will always be in compliance!