Labor Law and Mandatory Workplace Postings in Florida

The Florida Department of Economic Opportunity (DEO) and other state agencies require Florida employers to comply with various federal and state labor laws. These labor laws require all Florida employers to conspicuously post several specific notices. Employers of certain sizes or in particular industries may be subject to additional labor law posting requirements.    To get a handle on the posting requirements, let’s start with some of the federal labor

Learn more

New Workers' Comp Requirement for Florida Employers

Florida’s Division of Workers’ Compensation has released a new Workers’ Comp Works For You notice, which has a posting requirement. All employers who secure the payment of workers’ compensation are required to post the new notice in their workplaces. History of the Workers’ Compensation Notice Here’s some history on the Workers’ Comp Works for You (a.k.a. “Broken Arm”) notice, which was on our poster several years ago. In December 2009,

Learn more

Florida’s 2019 Minimum Wage Notice Now Available

It’s that time of year again when many U.S. states issue new minimum wage rates and the associated workplace notices for the coming year. Florida has the distinction of being the third state to issue its 2019 Minimum Wage notice, following closely behind Delaware and Ohio. Details of the 2019 Minimum Wage On September 30 of each year, Florida’s minimum wage rate is recalculated based on the percentage increase in

Learn more

Florida’s Minimum Wage Is on the Rise

Florida may be the flattest of the 50 states, but its minimum wage is going up! The state just issued its new minimum wage poster, which will soon be on the way to our clients. What Employers Need to Know According to Florida law, on September 30 of each year, the state’s minimum wage rate is recalculated based on the percentage increase in the federal Consumer Price Index over the

Learn more

Florida Makes Significant Change to the Discrimination Notice

Florida recently changed its discrimination law by adding language to specify that discrimination based on pregnancy is specifically prohibited. Now, the state has released a new version of its discrimination labor law poster to reflect this recent change to the law. Mandatory Change to the Poster Since the FL discrimination poster has never had a revision date, it becomes important to focus on what has changed about the new labor

Learn more

Florida Updates Minimum Wage Poster - New 2015 FL Labor Law Poster Required

The latest required change to the Florida labor law poster is on the Minimum Wage poster. Florida’s minimum wage increases from $7.93 to $8.05 per hour effective January 1, 2015. Every subsequent year, the minimum wage rate will be recalculated  based on the Consumer Price Index. Additionally, the minimum wage also increases for tipped employees January 1 to a rate of at least $5.03 per hour, in addition to tips. We

Learn more

Florida Raises Minimum Wage for 2014; New FL Poster Required

The Florida minimum wage will increase from $7.79 to $7.93 per hour effective Jan. 1, 2014, according to the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity. The updated minimum wage poster is the latest required change on the FL labor law poster. Minimum wage for tipped employees also increases Jan. 1 from $4.77 to $4.91. The minimum wage is adjusted for any increase in the Consumer Price Index every January 1. We

Learn more

Florida Raises Minimum Wage for 2013, New FL Labor Law Poster Required

The latest change to the Florida labor law poster is the new minimum wage of $7.79 per hour, effective from Jan. 1 to Dec. 31, 2013, according to the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity. Minimum wage for tipped employees will be $4.77 per hour. The annual Jan. 1 FL minimum wage adjustment is caused by any increase in the Consumer Price Index. We will publish an updated Florida labor law poster including

Learn more

Florida Minimum Wage Increases June 1, 2011; Poster Update Required

The latest required change to the Florida labor law poster is on the FL Minimum Wage poster. As of June 1, the Florida minimum wage increases from $7.25 to $7.31 per hour.  The minimum wage for tipped workers also increases June 1, from $4.23 to $4.29 per hour, in addition to tips. The Florida minimum wage had remained at the federal minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour since July

Learn more

No Labor Law Poster Requirement for New Florida Law

Q:  Is HB 7069 in Florida a mandatory labor law change? A:  Florida HB 7069 went into effect August 1.  It increases background screening requirements for individuals with access to vulnerable persons such as children, seniors and the disabled. At this time there are no Florida labor law poster requirements for the new law, but we will continue to monitor the state requirements for any future changes. If you need

Learn more

Find out which posters you need, quickly and easily

or

or