As we reported a few weeks ago, employees in Colorado will receive a minimum wage increase effective January 1, 2018. We are pleased to report that Colorado’s Department of Labor and Employment just released the new minimum wage notice: Colorado Minimum Wage Order 34.
We are currently working to get our updated Colorado poster out to clients as soon as possible.
Details of the Minimum Wage Update
On January 1, 2018, Colorado’s minimum wage increases to $10.20 per hour for all adult employees and emancipated minors. For employees who regularly receive tips, the minimum wage rate increases to $7.18 per hour.
If an employee is covered by both state and federal minimum wage laws, the law that provides a higher minimum wage should be applied.
Colorado’s minimum wage law calls for increases of $1.00 every January 1, until the wage rate reaches $12.00 in 2020. Thereafter, annual adjustments will be based on the cost of living.
Take the Worry Out of Labor Law Compliance
If you have not already done so, we encourage you to order our OneSystem 1-Year Compliance Plan, so that you will automatically receive the updated Colorado poster as soon as it is ready. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the 12-month period, you can count on us to keep you in compliance!