On January 1, 2018, the “Maine” event for employees in the state will be another increase in the minimum wage. As 2017 draws to a close, our Research Department will be watching closely for the updated poster.
Minimum Wage Requirements
Maine’s minimum wage will increase to $10.00 per hour on January 1, 2018, followed by another annual increase of $1.00 in 2019, until the wage reaches $12.00 on January 1, 2020.
In June 2017, Maine’s minimum wage law was updated to restore the tip credit, which had been removed after the approval of ballot Question 4 in the November 2016 election. The tipped credit allows employers to count employees’ tips toward their wages. Tipped employees may now be paid no more than 50 percent of the state’s hourly minimum wage, which will be $5.00 in 2018.
However, employers should be aware that if they choose to use the tip credit, they must inform their employees in advance. In addition, employers are still required to make up the difference in tipped employees’ pay when their weekly tips plus the tip credit do not equal what the employees would earn under the minimum wage.
We’re Here to Help You Stay in Compliance
If you order our OneSystem 1-Year Compliance Plan, you will automatically receive the updated Maine poster as soon as it becomes available. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the 12-month period, you can count on us to keep you in compliance!