Minimum Wage Increase Included in Revised North Carolina Labor Law

August 21st, 2008

A revised mandatory North Carolina labor law poster includes an increase in the state’s minimum wage from $6.15 per hour to $6.55 per hour effective July 24, 2008.

The Wage and Hour poster has also been revised to include a decrease in the amount that employers are allowed to pay tipped employees — from not less than $2.43 per hour to not less than $2.13 per hour.

This amount decreased because the federal minimum wage increase (to $6.55 per hour on July 24) was accompanied by an increase in the amount of the tip credit that employers may count toward the payment of wages.

In addition, the North Carolina minimum wage notice now says that the tip record that all employers must maintain for each tipped employee may be kept monthly or for each pay period. Previously this record had to be kept for each pay period.

The North Carolina labor law poster in now available at Poster Compliance Center at www.postercompliance.com.


Leave a reply



Select Your State or City/County

Free Federal ePoster & Update Alerts