Minimum Wage Increase + New Smoke Free Law

Tranquil Oregon Mountain Lake

An increase in Oregon’s minimum wage from $7.95 per hour to $8.40 per hour effective Jan. 1, 2009 through Dec. 31, 2009 is included in a mandatory Oregon labor law poster issued by the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries.

The 2009 minimum wage increase is the result of a ballot measure passed by Oregon voters in 2002. That measure requires an annual minimum wage adjustment to be made each September for the following calendar year based on any changes in the U.S. Consumer Price Index.

In addition to the new Oregon minimum wage rate, the revised labor law poster clarifies which employees must be paid overtime. It also includes information about a new requirement for certain employers to provide additional rest periods to employees to express milk for a child.

A new No Smoking poster has also been added to the list of mandatory Oregon labor law posters for Oregon employers. The new poster is required by amendments to the Oregon Smokefree Workplace Law passed in 2007.

Most Oregon businesses must be smoke free and smoking is not allowed within 10 feet of the building under the new law that went into effect on Jan. 1, 2009.