Minimum Wage and OSHA Updates for Alaska

A few weeks ago, we reported that Alaska’s minimum wage is going up as of January 1, 2018. The state’s Wage and Hour Act notice have just been released, along with an update to the Safety and Health Protection on the Job (AKOSH) notice.

Updates to Wage and Hour Act Notice

Effective January 1, 2018, the minimum wage rate in Alaska will be $9.84 per hour for nearly all employees in the state. The notice has a new revision date of January 2018.

Minimum Wage Exceptions

As we reported previously, the minimum wage rate does not apply to all workers. For example, school bus drivers must be paid at least two times the Alaska minimum wage. In addition, workers who are employed as follows are not required to be paid the minimum wage:

  • Youth under the age of 18 who work part-time for no more than 30 hours per week
  • Baby-sitters in or about private homes
  • S. state or local government employees

Additional exceptions to Alaska’s minimum wage are available on the notice and on the Department of Labor and Workforce Development’s website.

Updates to AKOSH (Safety & Health) Notice

The changes to the AKOSH notice match federal OSHA requirements regarding discrimination and reporting of specific injuries or fatalities.

Discrimination Protections

Employees may not be discharged or discriminated against for filing a complaint, instituting a legal proceeding, or testifying in a proceeding related to the enforcement of safety and health standards. Any employee may file a complaint at the nearest OSHA or AKOSH office within 30 days of the alleged act of discrimination.

Reporting Injuries

Employers are required to report an in-patient hospitalization, the loss of an eye, an amputation, or a fatality to AKOSH or OSHA within 8 hours of the incident.

Don’t Get Caught Out in the Cold!

If you haven’t already done so, order our 1-Year Compliance Plan so that you will automatically receive the updated Alaska poster as soon as it is ready. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the 12-month period, you will never have to worry about being in compliance!