A 70-cent increase for the Nevada minimum wage will go into effect July 1 as part of an annual adjustment, according to an official announcement from the Nevada Labor Commissioner. This will bring the state rate from $6.55 to $7.25 for employees who receive employer health benefits, and from $7.55 to $8.25 an hour for those who do not.
This increase is in dramatic contrast to this year’s annual Jan. 1 minimum wage adjustments that occur in 9 states. Eight of the states kept their minimum wages the same since inflation decreased but their laws do not allow for a decrease in the minimum wage. Since Colorado law does allow such a decrease, it was the first state to decrease its minimum wage as of Jan. 1.
However, the constitutional amendment passed by Nevada voters in 2006 calls for a different type of adjustment. The Nevada minimum wage is adjusted annually based on any increase in the federal minimum wage or, if greater, by the cumulative increase in the cost of living.
Under Nevada law the minimum wage must be $1 more per hour than the federal minimum wage (currently $7.25 per hour) for those who don’t receive health insurance and equal to the federal rate for those who do.
As soon as a revised Nevada minimum wage poster is available, we will update our Nevada labor law poster with the new information.
For information about the Nevada labor law poster or other labor law poster questions, go to the Poster Compliance Center Nevada state poster page or call 1-800-322-3636.