New Rules for Applying for Temporary Disability & Caregiver Benefits in Rhode Island

Rhode Island just updated its Unemployment/Disability Benefits notice, which has a new revision date of 7/2017. Keep reading to find out all the details employers and employees need to know.

Here’s What’s Changing—Or Not—in the “Ocean State”

Most of the information on the notice remains the same, including the Unemployment Insurance Benefits and Employment and Training Services sections.

In addition, the eligibility requirements for Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI) and Temporary Caregiver Insurance (TCI) benefits have not changed; however, the application process for these benefits has changed.

New Application Timelines for TDI and TCI Benefits

Claims for Temporary Disability Insurance benefits must now be filed within 90 days of the first week an employee will be out of work due to illness or injury. However, the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training Director may extend this period up to 26 weeks if the employee can provide a good medical reason for the delay in filing a claim.

Claims for Temporary Caregiver Insurance benefits must now be filed within 30 days after the first day of leave taken by an employee for bonding with a new child or providing care for a seriously ill child, spouse, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, or domestic partner.

How to Stay in Compliance

If you order our 1-Year Compliance Plan, you will automatically receive the updated Rhode Island poster as soon as it becomes available. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the year, you can count on us to keep you in compliance!