If you’re an employer in Oregon, you may be ready to kick back and enjoy the summer after a stressful year. But, before you dip your toes in the sand, make sure you’ve updated your labor law posters to reflect the most recent changes to the law: several revisions are taking effect in June and July. Specifically, the updates affect four of Oregon’s labor law posters: the Minimum Wage, Breaks and Overtime, Family Leave, and Equal Pay Act posters.
Oregon Minimum Wage Labor Law Poster
A new poster became available in June to reflect the most recent increases to the Oregon minimum wage. Effective July 1, 2021, Oregon’s minimum wage will increase to $12.75 per hour. For residents living in the Portland Metro Area, including Clackamas, Multnomah, and Washington, the minimum wage is increasing to $14.00 per hour. And for those Oregonians living in nonurban counties, their minimum wage will be $12.00 per hour. Those counties include Baker, Coos, Crook, Curry, Douglas, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, and Wheeler.
Oregon Breaks and Overtime Labor Law Poster
Oregon also recently updated its meal break, rest period, and overtime poster.
Oregon law specifies that employees are entitled to meal breaks and rest periods according to how many hours they have worked. Here is a summary:
- Up to 2 hours: No breaks
- 2 hours and 1 minute to 5 hours and 59 minutes: One 10-minute paid rest period
- 6 hours: 1 10-minute paid rest period and 1 unpaid 30-minute meal break
- 6 hours and 1 minute to 10 hours: 2 10-minute paid rest periods and 1 unpaid 30-minute meal break
- 10 hours and 1 minute to 13 hours and 59 minutes: 3 10-minute paid rest periods and 1 unpaid 30-minute meal break
- 14 hours: 3 10-minute paid rest periods and 2 unpaid 30-minute meal breaks
- 14 hours and 1 minute to 18 hours: 4 10-minute paid rest periods and 1 unpaid 30-minute meal break
The Oregon labor law poster also addresses overtime requirements. Employees who work more than 40 hours in a workweek must be paid 1.5 times their regular rate of pay. And employees must receive a paycheck at least every 35 days, along with a detailed paystub. Employees who are fired or laid off permanently must receive their last paycheck by the end of the next business day. The poster also explains that employees who quit with at least 48 hours’ notice must get their paycheck on their last day of work; if they don’t give the required notice, then they must receive their paycheck within 5 business days or the next payday, whichever is first.
Oregon Family Leave Act Labor Law Poster
The Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) recently reformatted this labor law poster’s design and text to improve its clarity. The poster explains that the Oregon Family Leave Act allows eligible employees to take up to 12 weeks off to take care of themselves or their close family members. The leave is available for the birth, adoption, and foster placement of a child; for the employee’s or family member’s serious health condition; for pregnancy disability before or after the bird of a child; for military family leave if the employee’s spouse is a servicemember and has been called to active duty or is on leave from active duty); for a sick child; or for bereavement after the death of a family member. The leave periods vary depending on the reason for the leave.
To be eligible for family leave in Oregon, employees must have worked for at least 25 hours per week for 180 days or more for a company with at least 25 employees. This leave is unpaid unless an employee has a vacation, sick, or other paid leave that they can use.
Note that in 2023, Oregon employers must start offering employees paid family leave.
Oregon Equal Pay Law Labor Law Poster
The Oregon BOLI recently reformatted this poster as well. The poster explains that Oregon law makes it illegal for employers to pay people less because of their gender, race, veteran status, disability, age, color, religion, national origin, marital status, sexual orientation, or payment history.
The law does permit different pay if there are bona fide reasons for the difference, including a seniority or merit system, workplace location, education and training, and experience.
How to Stay in Compliance With Oregon Labor Law Poster Requirements
If you’re an employer in Oregon, you should check to make sure you have displayed the summer 2021 versions of these labor law posters. And be sure to bookmark our updates page, which will keep you up to date on the most recent changes to Oregon labor law poster requirements.