POSTER COMPLIANCE CENTER

Updated Minimum Wage in the Wings for Missouri

Missouri’s minimum wage is subject to an annual adjustment every January 1 based on inflation, but the Department of Labor in the “Show-Me State” has not yet announced the minimum wage rates for 2018.

Requirements of the Minimum Wage Law

The state’s minimum wage may increase or decrease on January 1, 2018. This is dependent on the rise and fall of the cost of living as measured by the Consumer Price Index. However, Missouri’s minimum wage rate may not be lower than the federal rate, which is currently $7.25.

All businesses in Missouri are required to pay the minimum wage, except retail and service businesses whose annual gross sales are less than $500,000.

Employers must pay tipped employees at least 50 percent of the minimum wage, but if tipped employees’ wages plus tips do not equal the full minimum wage, employers must make up the difference.

Compliance Made Easy

Order our OneSystem 1-Year Compliance Plan, and you will automatically receive the updated Missouri poster as soon as it becomes available. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the year, you will always be in compliance.