The new poster just issued by Massachusetts reflects recent additions and amendments to the state’s Wage & Hour Laws. While the minimum wage for 2017 has increased to $11.00, as of January 1, this information was already on our previous poster. “What has changed?” you ask. Keep reading…and you’ll find out.

Hours Worked

A definition of “working time” has been added, which includes all the time an employee must be on duty at an employer’s worksite or other location, as well as hours worked before and after the employee’s normal shift.

Child Labor

More information has been added to state when, where, and how minors may work. For example, 14- and 15-year-olds may not cook near open flames, operate food slicers or mixers, or work in freezers or meat coolers. In addition, 16- and 17-year-old minors may not handle, serve, or sell alcoholic beverages, or operate power-driven machines. In most cases, minors under 14 may not work in Massachusetts at all.

Domestic Violence Leave

Employees who are victims, or whose family members are victims, of domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking, or kidnapping now have the right to 15 days of leave under this new law. The leave may be used to seek health care, counseling, safe housing, legal help, and other related needs. Depending on the employer’s policy, the leave may be paid or unpaid. This law only applies to employers with 50 or more employees.

Reporting Pay

Under this new law, most employees are now entitled to be paid for 3 hours, at no less than the minimum wage, if they are scheduled to work for 3 or more hours, report to work on time, and are not given the expected hours of work.

Right to Sue

As on the previous Massachusetts poster, employees have the right to sue their employer for most violations of the Wage & Hour Laws. However, there are now strict deadlines for starting a lawsuit. For most cases, the deadline is 3 years after the violation.

Let Us Help You Stay in Compliance!

Labor law changes can take you by surprise, but have no fear—our Research Team is on the case! If you sign up for our OneSystem 1-Year Compliance Plan, you will automatically receive the updated Massachusetts poster once it becomes available. Plus, we offer free automatic updates, no matter how many changes occur during the year, so that you’ll never have to worry about being in compliance.