Alaska’s minimum wage updates every January 1 based on inflation. Because the end of the year is almost here, we are keeping a close watch for the state’s updated Wage and Hour Act poster.

Updated Minimum Wage Rate for Alaska

Effective January 1, 2018, the minimum wage rate in Alaska will increase to $9.84 per hour for nearly all employees in the state. The minimum wage rate does not apply in certain instances, some of which are listed below.

Minimum Wage Exceptions

School bus drivers must be paid at least two times the Alaska minimum wage. In addition, individuals who are employed as follows are not required to be paid the minimum wage:

  • Youth under the age of 18 who work part-time for no more than 30 hours per week
  • Baby-sitters in or about private homes
  • State or local government employees
  • Agricultural workers
  • Newspaper delivery people
  • Volunteers who provide emergency medical services, serve with a full-time fire department, or provide ski patrol services

Additional exceptions to Alaska’s minimum wage are available on the poster and on the Department of Labor and Workforce Development’s website.

Don’t Get Caught Out in the Cold!

If you order our OneSystem 1-Year Compliance Plan you will automatically receive the updated Alaska poster as soon as it becomes available. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the 12-month period, you can count on us to keep you in compliance!