The Missouri labor law poster includes an increase in the state’s minimum wage from $6.50 per hour to $6.65 per hour effective Jan. 1, 2008.
The Missouri minimum wage increases or decreases on January 1 each year based on any change in the cost of living as measured by the Consumer Price Index. The Missouri minimum wage law does not apply to retail or service businesses with annual sales of less than $500,000.
Missouri’s minimum wage for tipped employees has also been increased – from $3.25 per hour to $3.325 per hour. Employers are required to pay tipped employees at least 50 percent of the minimum wage.
Wording has also been changed in a section of the minimum wage poster regarding overtime compensation. The poster states that the requirement applies to a “covered employee” rather than “employee” in the previous version.
The Missouri Department of Labor has informed employers that although a minimum wage notice is not required by law, they must post a summary of the law. The poster issued by the Department’s Division of Labor Standards meets that requirement.
Poster Compliance Center has available the Missouri labor law poster online at www.postercompliance.com.