A 10-cent increase in the Oregon minimum wage will go into effect Jan. 1 as part of an annual adjustment for inflation, according to an official announcement from the Oregon Labor Commissioner.  This will bring the state rate from $8.40 to $8.50 per hour.

Oregon is the first of the eight states that have a minimum wage adjustment for inflation every Jan. 1 to announce a minimum wage increase.  The others are Washington, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Missouri, Ohio and Vermont.

The Oregon adjustment is based on any increase in the Consumer Price Index, which increased 1.15%.  There was no increase in the 2010 minimum wage rate.

As soon as an updated Oregon minimum wage poster is available, we will update our OR labor law poster with the new information.

For information about the OR labor law poster or other federal or state labor law poster questions, go to the Poster Compliance Center Oregon labor law poster page or call 1-800-322-3636.