An updated Michigan Minimum Wage poster includes new language reflecting two changes in the lowest wage that must be paid to minors 16 and 17 years of age.
The mandatory Michigan labor law poster issued by the Michigan Department of Labor & Economic Growth now states that minors must be paid at least $6.29 per hour between July 1, 2008 and July 23, 2008, and $6.55 per hour as of July 24.
The $6.29 rate is based on a requirement that minors be paid at least 85 percent of the state’s minimum wage, which increases from $7.15 per hour to $7.40 per hour on July 1. Minors must be paid a minimum wage of $6.08 per hour until July 1.
Another change in the minimum wage for minors will occur on July 24, when the federal minimum wage increases from $5.85 per hour to $6.55 per hour.
Michigan employers will need to pay minors the federal minimum wage as of July 24 since it is higher than the $6.29 per hour rate in effect from July 1 to July 23. That new $6.55 rate is also included on the updated Michigan minimum wage poster.
The updated Michigan labor law poster is now available at Poster Compliance Center, www.postercompliance.com.