City of Santa Fe Issues 2019 Living Wage Notice

The City of Santa Fe, New Mexico has released the updated Living Wage notice for 2019. As required by the City of Santa Fe Living Wage Ordinance, the wage is adjusted annually on March 1, based on the increase in the Consumer Price Index. 2019 Living Wage Adjustment Effective March 1, 2019, all employees, including part-time and temporary workers, must be paid Santa Fe’s adjusted living wage of at least

Learn more

Annual Minimum Wage Adjustment for Bernalillo County

As we reported a couple of months ago in our blog about minimum wage increases in New Mexico cities, employers in unincorporated Bernalillo County are subject to a minimum wage adjustment every January 1. At that time, we also reported that Bernalillo County’s Minimum Wage notice would probably not be available until March 2019, based on past history. Well, to our great surprise, the 2019 Minimum Wage notice has already

Learn more

City Minimum Wages on the Rise in New Mexico

Every January 1, the City of Albuquerque, the City of Las Cruces, and Unincorporated Bernalillo County are subject to a minimum wage update. However, Bernalillo County’s Minimum Wage notice is not typically available until roughly 2 months after the first of the year, so we’ll be reporting on that at a much later date. For now, keep reading to find out what’s new in Albuquerque and Las Cruces, whose Minimum

Learn more

Update to New Mexico's Minimum Wage Act

The New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions (DWS) has released an update to the Minimum Wage Act notice, which includes important information for both employees and employers. Before we share all the details, please note that New Mexico’s minimum wage has not been increased—it is still $7.50 per hour. What’s New for Employees and Employers? Employees Who Receive Tips The updated notice states that if employees’ tips plus the hourly

Learn more

City & County Minimum Wage Ordinances Leaving State Laws in the Dust

Over the past couple of years, there has been an upsurge in the number of municipalities that have passed minimum wage ordinances with higher rates than the state minimum wage laws. As a result, the number of mandatory city and county labor law posters has increased significantly. As of 2018, a total of 35 cities and/or counties in the following states have instituted minimum wage laws that include a workplace

Learn more

New Mexico Adds Human Trafficking, Updates Minimum Wage Posters; New NM Labor Law Poster Required

The latest required changes to the New Mexico labor law poster are a new Human Trafficking poster and an update to the Minimum Wage poster. A new law has passed that requires a state poster about the National Human Trafficking Resource Center Hotline. For the Minimum Wage Act, new information was added to the penalties section regarding consequences for employers who violate the Minimum Wage Act. First, those in violation are subject

Learn more

New Mexico Updates Minimum Wage Poster; New NM Labor Law Poster Required

The latest required change to the New Mexico labor law poster is on the Minimum Wage Act. New information was added to the penalties section regarding consequences for employers who violate the Minimum Wage Act. First, those in violation are subject to new provisions, whereas the previous poster outlined specific fines and penalties. Also, violators are liable to employees who have been unpaid or underpaid, and may be subject to

Learn more

New Mexico Whistleblower Labor Law Poster Required for Government Employees Only

Q:  Does New Mexico have a new whistleblower poster coming out? A:  The New Mexico Whistleblower Protection Act was signed into law Feb. 27, 2010, but it applies only to New Mexico government employees. The new law states:  “Every employer shall keep posted in a conspicuous place on the public employer’s premises notices prepared by the employer that set forth the provisions of the Whistleblower Protection Act.” This will not

Learn more

Will There be a New Poster for the New Mexico Domestic Abuse Leave Law?

Q:  There is a new New Mexico Domestic Violence Leave Law that requires employers to give leave to victims of domestic abuse.  Will a new state labor law poster be required for this law?  A:  A new domestic violence leave law for New Mexico went into effect July 1.  The  New Mexico Minimum Wage Act poster will be updated with this information in the near future, according to the New Mexico

Learn more

Find out which posters you need, quickly and easily

or

or