New Requirements Added to Kentucky’s Child Labor Laws Notice

The Kentucky Labor Cabinet just released an update to the state’s Child Labor Laws notice, which has a new publication date of 5/1/2018. This means it’s time for employers in Kentucky to order a new state poster for their workplaces.

New Child Labor Rules

For Minors 16 & 17 Years Old

Minors who are 16 & 17 years old may now work up to 32.5 hours a week when school is in session if only a parent or legal guardian gives permission in writing. The maximum number of hours these minors may work on a school day is 6.5 hours.

In addition, minors 16 & 17 years old who have written parental permission may not work before 6:00 A.M. on any day, and after 11:00 P.M. preceding a school day. On non-school days, they may not work after 1:00 A.M.

The rules for working 40 hours per week for minors 16 & 17 years old are unchanged. They are still required to have written permission from a parent or legal guardian and written certification from the principal or head of their school that they have at least a 2.0 grade point average for the most recent grading period.

Further Information

Those who need more information on Kentucky’s Child Labor Laws may now contact the Division of Wages and Hours at the new phone number and fax number provided on the notice or go to the Kentucky Labor Cabinet’s website at the following address:

Compliance Made Easy

There’s no need to be “blue” in the “Bluegrass State”—if you order our 1-Year Compliance Plan, you will automatically receive the updated Kentucky poster as soon as it is ready. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the 12-month period, you can always count on the Poster Compliance Center to keep you in compliance.