Effective January 1, 2020, Missouri employers must pay their employees the increased minimum wage and tipped wage rates.
The state’s minimum wage is set to increase by 85 cents every year through 2023 for all private, non-exempt businesses. The Minimum Wage Law does not apply to public employers. In addition, Missouri’s minimum wage rate may never be lower than the federal minimum wage.
NEW MINIMUM WAGE
Effective January 1, 2020:
- The minimum wage will increase to $9.45 per hour.
- The minimum wage for tipped employees will increase to $4.725 per hour.
Missouri employers must pay tipped employees at least 50 percent of the minimum wage, plus any amount needed to bring the total compensation to at least $9.45 per hour.
Every year, Missouri’s Division of Labor Standards (DLS) publishes a new Minimum Wage notice, which must be posted in employers’ workplaces. The notice for 2020 has a revision date of 12/19.
Employees who do not receive the correct wages from their employer may file a minimum wage complaint online at https://labor.mo.gov/DLS/MinimumWage and may also pursue a private legal right of action to collect all wages they are due. All costs and reasonable attorneys’ fees allowed by the court or jury must be paid by the employer.
We Make Compliance Easy!
If you have not already done so, we encourage you to order our 1-Year Compliance Plan, so that you will automatically receive the updated Missouri poster, which is now available. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the 12-month period, you can always count on Poster Compliance Center to keep your business in compliance.