For more information on Florida employer obligations visit Florida labor law posting requirements.
Whether an employer permits its employees to have meal breaks and rest breaks is largely within the employer’s discretion. While some states, like California and New York, have strict requirements for employers to provide meal and rest breaks, Florida is not one of them.
In the Sunshine State, there is no requirement for an employer to provide a meal period or rest break to its employees aged 18 or older. Instead, employers must adhere to the requirements of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), which also does not mandate a meal or rest break. Thus, in Florida, an adult employee does not have a legal right to a meal period or break. Florida’s only requirement for a meal break applies to minor employees under age 18.
Purchase the Florida Labor Law Poster Now
Here is a summary of what the law requires:
Meal Breaks in Florida
Many employers voluntarily offer meal breaks in recognition that it is important for their employee’s health and productivity to be given time to eat. There is, however, no legal requirement to provide a workday meal break in Florida, except for employees age 17 or younger.
Until an employee’s 18th birthday, Florida labor law requires that minor employees be given a 30-minute uninterrupted meal break for every 4 hours of continuous work.
Adult employees are not entitled to any breaks under federal or state law. However, if an employer offers a meal break as part of its company policy, then it must adhere to federal requirements.
Federal law requires that employees be paid for hours worked. If the employer offers a meal break of at least 30 minutes during which the employee is relieved of all job duties, then the employer does not have to compensate the employee during the meal break. However, if the employee is required to work through the designated “meal break” (e.g., a receptionist who must still answer the phones during lunch), then the employee must be paid.
Meal breaks must not be provided in a discriminatory manner. In other words, an employer cannot deny the meal break to a specific employee based on sex, race, disability, national origin, religion, age, or race.
The most common pitfall for employers is allowing some work to be performed during a meal break, which renders the break compensable. To avoid this, the employer may prohibit any kind of work during a meal break or may require employees to leave their workstations during the allotted meal breaks.
Rest Breaks in Florida
Florida employers are not legally required to offer rest breaks, except to employees age 17 or younger. However, many employers do offer rest breaks as a matter of custom or policy. If the employer elects to provide a rest break, then federal law requires employers to pay employees for short breaks of up to 20 minutes.
Until an employee’s 18th birthday, Florida labor law requires that minor employees be given a 10-minute paid rest break for every 4 hours of continuous work.
The FLSA requires employers to give nursing mothers a break to express milk, whenever the mothers need to express milk, for one year after their child’s birth. Employers must provide a place, other than a bathroom, that is private, meaning “shielded from view and free from intrusion from coworkers and the public,” where women may express milk. The law exempts employers with fewer than 50 employees if it would be an undue hardship for the business to provide such breaks.
Penalties for Violating FLSA Meal and Rest Break Requirements
Employers can refuse to allow breaks, except for minors under age 18. However, if an employer provides a rest break or requires that work be performed during a designated meal break, then employees must be paid during the break as part of the workday. If not, then employees may file a wage and hour violation complaint to seek compensation for denied wages.
Where to Get More Information About Florida Labor Laws
For additional information about employer obligations under Florida labor laws, including posting requirements for wage and hour and other labor laws, check out our site dedicated to Florida labor law posting requirements.