Delaware-Specific Posting Requirements
Payment of Wages: This notice is required for employers with four or more employees. This notice must be provided to employees in writing at the time of hire and must include:
- Rate of Pay
- Day, hour and place of payment
- Employer’s fringe benefits policies
Notifications of any reductions in the rate of pay, and any changes in the day, hour or place of payment or benefits must also be furnish to each employee with a pay statement showing:
- Amount of wages due
- Pay period covered by the payment
- Amounts of deductions (separately specified) which have been made from the wages
- The total number of hours worked in a pay period (for employees who are paid at an hourly rate)
Minimum Wage: Employers must keep records (including the rate of pay, hours worked, and
amount paid for each employee for three (3) years. The current minimum wage for Delaware is:
- Regular Rate:
- $8.25/hour (effective: 06/01/15)
- $8.75/hour (effective: 06/01/19)
- $9.25/hour (effective: 10/01/19)
- Youth Rate: (Ages 14-17) and Training Rate: (adults, 1st 90 days on the job)
- $8.25/hour (effective: 01/01/19)
- $8.75/hour (effective: 10/01/19)
NOTE: Delaware’s minimum cash wage for tipped employees is greater than the cash wage required by federal law. Employers must pay Delaware’s higher rate. Tips may not be taken or retained by an employer except as required by law. Tip-pooling is permitted (under certain conditions) in an amount not to exceed 15% of the actual ps received by the employee.
Discrimination: Employers are prohibited by state law from discriminating against employees
because of their race, color, national origin, sex (including pregnancy), regligion, disability, age (40+), genetic information, sexual orientation, gender identity, marital status, membership in volunteer emergency responder organization (volunteer firefighters, ambulance personnel, ladies auxiliary), a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking, family care responsibilities, reproductive health decisions, and retaliation for initiating a complaint of employment discrimination, or opposing or participating in the investigation of discriminatory employment practice. Employers of four (4) or more employees, labor organizations, employment agencies and joint labor-management committees for apprenticeship or training are covered by this law.
Child Labor: This poster provides only general information regarding the provisions of Delaware’s Child Labor Laws. The requirements of state law do not affect an employer’s obligation to comply with any provisions of federal law.
Workers Compensation: Delaware employers must post this notice for their employees as well as carry Workers’ Compensation insurance coverage. Provide all necessary medical, surgical, and hospital treatment from the accident date. Every employer shall keep a record of all injuries received by employees and make a report within ten (10) days thereof in wring to the Office of Workers’ Compensation.