2020 Minimum Wage Rates
As of January 1, 2020, employers in the State of Washington must pay an increased minimum wage of $13.50 per hour to most workers. For workers who are 14 or 15 years old, employers may pay a minimum wage of $11.48 per hour.
The updated Minimum Wage notice has a new revision date of 12/2019.
New Paid Family and Medical Leave Notice
Last May, we issued a blog on Washington’s Paid Family and Medical Leave law, which was added to the state’s Your Rights as a Worker notice. The state has now issued a separate notice for the law, which must be posted in the workplace. The new notice includes further details about benefits and employee rights under the PFML law.
Nearly all full-time and part-time workers, regardless of an employer’s business size, may take up to 12 weeks of leave for their own serious health condition, to care for a family member or a new child, and for certain military-related events.
Workers who apply for Paid Family and Medical Leave will get partial wage replacement of up to 90% of their pay, with a cap of $1,000 per week.
Resources for Victims of Domestic Violence
Washington’s Employment Security Department has issued a brand-new Domestic Violence Resources notice. The intent of the notice is to provide help for individuals who have been subject to abuse and other forms of domestic violence. The resources include phone numbers (800-799-7233 or 800-787-3224 [TTY]) and a link to the National Domestic Violence Hotline, where victims can get help from advocates 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.
Compliance Made Easy!
If you have not already done so, we encourage you to order our 1-Year Compliance Plan, so that you will automatically receive the updated State of Washington poster. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the plan year, you can always count on Poster Compliance Center to keep your business in compliance!