About the Poster
The Notice to Employer and Employee poster covers minimum wage and workers’ rights information for the state of Arkansas. The current minimum wage for the state is $7.50, and increases to $8.00 effective January 1, 2016 with another increase to $8.50 effective January 1, 2017. The current allowance for gratuities is $4.87, with increases to $5.37 effective January 1, 2016, and to $5.87 effective January 1, 2017. These wages apply to most employers with 4 or more employees.
The notice also covers exceptions to the wage rates for students and disadvantaged workers, and enforcement.
The newest version of the Arkansas Notice to Employer and Employee poster has a date of April 6, 2015. The update to the employment poster that necessitates a change is located in the section titled “Child Labor.” Updated language regarding which minors are exempt from child labor laws used to read, “Provided, however, that no boy or girl between the ages of 16 and 18 shall be subject to the provisions of this Act if” and now reads, “No 16-year old shall be subject to the provisions of this Act.”
This new information changes the exemption age for specific child labor requirements from “between the ages of 16 and 18” to now only covering 16-year-olds. The qualifying exemptions of either graduating from a high school, vocational school, or technical school, or getting married, have not changed.
Since this is the second required labor law change to the same notice just this year (the previous version was dated February 26, 2015), now is a great time to talk about the easiest way to stay on top of any and all compliance updates. Poster Compliance Center’s OneSystem 1-Year Compliance Plan with free automatic updates allows you to stay up-to-date no matter how many changes occur within the state each year.
For more information about the best way to stay in compliance, visit our website at https://www.postercompliance.com/ or speak to one of our live representatives by calling (800)-322-3636.