It’s that time of year again when many U.S. states issue new minimum wage rates and the associated workplace notices for the coming year. Florida has the distinction of being the third state to issue its 2019 Minimum Wage notice, following closely behind Delaware and Ohio.
Details of the 2019 Minimum Wage
On September 30 of each year, Florida’s minimum wage rate is recalculated based on the percentage increase in the federal Consumer Price Index over the previous 12 months.
Effective January 1, 2019, employers in The Sunshine State are required to pay non-tipped employees a minimum wage of $8.46 per hour. Tipped employees must be paid a minimum wage of $5.44 per hour, plus tips.
As we’ve noted in previous years, Florida law states that employees may not be retaliated against for exercising their rights to receive the minimum wage. Examples of protected rights for employees under the Florida State Constitution include the following:
- The right to file a complaint about an employer’s alleged noncompliance with minimum wage requirements
- The right to inform any individual about his or her potential rights under the law and to assist the individual in asserting those rights
We Can Help You Stay in Compliance
If you have not already done so, we encourage you to order our 1-Year Compliance Plan so that you will automatically receive the updated Florida poster as soon as it is available. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the plan year, you can always count on Poster Compliance Center to keep you in compliance!