Florida may be the flattest of the 50 states, but its minimum wage is going up! The state just issued its new minimum wage poster, which will soon be on the way to our clients.
What Employers Need to Know
According to Florida law, on September 30 of each year, the state’s minimum wage rate is recalculated based on the percentage increase in the federal Consumer Price Index over the previous 12 months.
Effective January 1, 2018, employers must pay non-tipped employees a minimum wage of $8.25 per hour. Tipped employees must be paid a minimum wage of $5.23 per hour, in addition to their tips.
As in previous years, employers should be aware that they may not retaliate against employees for exercising their rights to receive the minimum wage.
We Can Help You Stay in Compliance
Order our OneSystem 1-Year Compliance Plan, and you will automatically receive the updated Florida poster as soon as it becomes available. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the year, you can count on us to keep you in compliance!