Nevada’s Safety and Health notice has been updated
to include the new federal OSHA penalties for employer violations of the Nevada Occupational Safety and Health Act. The notice has a revision date of 1/20.
New Employer Violation Penalties
The Nevada Safety and Health notice includes the following employer violation categories: serious, nonserious, failure-to-correct, willful or repeated, and criminal violations. Here are the updated employer penalties:
- Employers who violate the Act will be subject to mandatory penalties of up to $13,494 for each serious violation, and optional penalties of up to $13,494 for each nonserious violation.
- Employers may be subject to penalties of up to $13,494 per day for failure to correct violations within the proposed time period.
- Employers who willfully or repeatedly violate the Act may be assessed penalties of up to $134,937 for each violation.
The maximum fine for an employer who is found guilty of a willful violation that results in the death of an employee remains at $50,000, or a maximum prison sentence of 6 months. In some cases, the employer will have to pay the fine and go to prison. If the employer is convicted again, the maximum criminal penalties will be doubled.
Compliance Made Easy!
Nevada had several labor law notice changes in 2019, including an update in October to the Safety and Health notice. We are currently watching for the state to issue revised versions of the Annual Minimum Wage Bulletin and Annual Daily Overtime Bulletin sometime around July 1, 2020, when the new minimum wage and overtime increases will go into effect.
If you have not already done so, we encourage you to order our 1-Year Compliance Plan so that you will automatically receive the updated Nevada poster. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the plan year, you can always count on Poster Compliance Center to keep your business in compliance!