Keeping Current on the Possible 2016 Oregon Paid Sick Leave Labor Law Poster

As we mentioned earlier, Oregon passed a new state sick leave law on June 22, 2015. Some of the specifics of the law were a little fuzzy at that time, and we have contacted the state to learn more about what to expect before the law goes into effect on January 1, 2016.

A Brief Overview of the Law

As a refresher, Oregon employers with 10 or more employees will need to provide workers with up to 40 hours of paid sick time annually. Any Oregon employers with fewer than 10 employees must provide up to 40 hours of unpaid sick time.

Information Regarding a Potential Poster

Since the Oregon sick leave law does not specify a posting requirement, we contacted the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) and asked if they know yet whether or not there will be a poster. The response from BOLI was, “BOLI is in the rulemaking process now. Since there is no provision in the bill for a poster, we do not know if there will be a poster requirement yet.”

Since the answer was not a clear “yes” or “no,” we will continue to track the rulemaking process so that we are up-to-date with the most current status of a potential mandatory poster. As soon as we learn more information as to whether a poster will be required or not, you can be sure that we will keep you informed. Additionally, should a mandatory poster become available from the state, we will put the state labor law poster into production as soon as possible so that our Oregon customers are prepared for the commencement of the law.

Be Prepared No Matter What Happens

This Oregon sick leave law is a prime example that labor laws and posters can be very unpredictable. Why sit and track these things yourself when you can be confident that your posters are always in compliance? Poster Compliance Center’s OneSystem 1-Year Compliance Plan with free automatic updates keeps you current with none of the hassle!