Out with the old and in with the new. As we move further into the new year, employers must double-check to make sure they’re in compliance with federal, state, and local laws and prominently post the most up-to-date labor law posters.
If you own or operate a business in New Mexico, you should be aware of recent updates to the minimum wage and other labor laws in your state and several of its localities.
New Mexico’s Newest Minimum Wage and Job Health and Safety Posters
Among the posters that New Mexico requires employers to prominently post in workplace common areas are the New Mexico Minimum Wage Poster and the Job Health and Safety Poster.
As of January 1, 2022, the new minimum wage in New Mexico is $11.50 per hour. Employers must pay tipped workers a minimum hourly rate of $2.80. If an employee’s tips do not equal at least $11.50 per hour, employers must make up the difference. Also note that two localities, the City of Santa Fe and Santa Fe County, both have a minimum wage rate higher than the state’s: $12.10 per hour.
New Mexico employers also must display the New Mexico Job Health and Safety Poster, which has been updated with new formatting and contact information for 2022. This state labor poster contains important information regarding workers’ rights to safety in the workplace that are enforced by the state Occupational Health and Safety Bureau. It also describes steps that employees can take to file complaints if they feel unsafe in their workplace. Employers must display two versions of this poster, in both English and Spanish. A failure to display this labor law poster can lead to fines and other sanctions.
Bernalillo’s New Minimum Wage and Employee Wellness Act Posters
All businesses with employees in Bernalillo County have a legal obligation to post the required Bernalillo County labor law poster. A mandatory change to Bernalillo’s minimum wage went into effect on January 1, 2022. The new minimum wage for Bernalillo County is $9.45 per hour, and employers should check to make sure their labor law poster reflects the newest rate.
Employers should make sure that their posters also refer to the Employee Wellness Act, which is also called the “Paid Time Off Ordinance.” This ordinance, approved by the Bernalillo County Commission, requires employers with two or more employees to offer paid time off to qualifying employees.
New Minimum Wage Rate for 2022 in Albuquerque
Beginning on January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Albuquerque rose to $11.50. If your company offers healthcare or childcare benefits to employees during any pay period, then the minimum wage you must pay is $10.50, if those benefits cost at least $2,500 a year.
Also note that the minimum wage for tipped employees in Albuquerque is now $6.90.
The New Minimum Wage for 2022 in Las Cruces
As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Las Cruces is $11.50. For tipped employees, the minimum hourly wage is $4.60 plus any reported tipped wages.
How to Stay on Top of Wage and Hour Changes in New Mexico and Other States
Poster Compliance Center continually monitors state and local laws for updates that require employers to display new posters. We even offer a guarantee that we’ll help you avoid fines and other penalties for noncompliance if you enroll in our 1-Year Compliance Plan. Give us a call today or order your 2022 New Mexico labor law posters right now.