Based on the recent passage of the Arkansas Minimum Wage Increase Initiative, employers in the state must pay a higher minimum wage, effective January 1, 2019.
The Arkansas Department of Labor has just released the updated Minimum Wage notice, which will appear on our revised Arkansas poster, along with a change to the state’s Unemployment Insurance notice.
New Minimum Wage Rates for Arkansas
Stepped Minimum Wage Increases Beginning 2019
Employers with 4 or more employees are subject to the new Minimum Wage law, which calls for stepped increases to $11.00 over three years, as outlined below.
- Effective January 1, 2019: The minimum wage increases to $9.25 per hour. The maximum allowance for tips will be $6.62 per hour.
- Effective January 1, 2020: The minimum wage increases to $10.00 per hour. The maximum allowance for tips will be $7.37 per hour.
- Effective January 1, 2021: The minimum wage increases to $11.00 per hour. The maximum allowance for tips will be $8.37 per hour.
Minimum Wage Exemptions
Individuals who are exempt from receiving the minimum wage include, but are not limited to, the following:
- Executive, administrative, or professional employees
- Outside salespeople who receive commission
- Students whose work is part of a bona fide vocational training program
- Students who work in the schools they are attending
- Certain farm laborers
- U.S. government employees
New Info on Unemployment Insurance
The Unemployment Insurance notice includes new information for those applying for benefits. Interpretation and translation services are now available through local Unemployment Insurance offices.
Let Us Help You Stay in Compliance
If you order our OneSystem 1-Year Compliance Plan, you will automatically receive the updated Arkansas poster as soon as it becomes available. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the plan year, you can always count on Poster Compliance Center to keep you in compliance!