Roughly a year ago, we reported that Virginia’s Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) had released an update to the Occupational Safety and Health (VOSH) law, based on federal OSHA penalty requirements. Businesses in Virginia should be aware that the state has updated the penalties once again, and the Job Safety & Health Protection notice, which must be posted by all Virginia employers, has a new date of August 2018.
Here’s What’s New
The Proposed Penalty section of the VOSH notice now includes the following penalty amounts:
- The mandatory penalty amount for each serious violation has increased to a maximum of $12,726.
- The optional penalty amount for each non-serious violation has increased to a maximum of $12,726.
- Penalties of up to $12,726 per day may be assessed for failure to correct violations within the proposed time period.
- Penalties of up to $127,254 per violation may be assessed for willful or repeated violations.
There are no other changes to the VOSH notice, nor are there changes to the remaining required notices for the State of Virginia: Workers’ Compensation, Unemployment Insurance, Earned Income Tax Credit, and Virginia Income Tax Credit.
Let Us Keep You in Compliance
Because our Virginia poster has had several mandatory changes over the past two years, we encourage you to order our OneSystem 1-Year Compliance Plan, so that you will automatically receive the updated Virginia poster as soon as it becomes available. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the plan year, you can always count on Poster Compliance Center to keep you in compliance!