In February 2020, Utah’s Labor Commission released an updated version of the state’s Safety and Health (UOSH) notice.
Under the Utah Occupational Safety and Health Act (Utah Act), employers are required to provide a safe and healthful working environment for all employees—a workplace that is free from any hazards that might result in the death of an employee or cause serious physical harm.
What’s New for Utah Employees and Employers?
Employees in Utah now have the right to request and participate in a UOSH inspection due to unsafe or unhealthful conditions in the workplace.
Plus, if an employer is found to have violated any of the Utah Act rules and standards, UOSH will now promptly issue a citation to notify the employer of the violation. However, the following penalties for employer violations have not changed:
- Up to $7,000 for a serious violation
- Up to $70,000 for a willful or repeated violation
- Up to $7,000 per day for failure to correct or abate a violation
The Safety and Health notice also includes new information on filing a complaint about state program administration with the Occupational Safety and Health Administration at the new address provided on the notice.
We Make Compliance Easy!
If you have not already done so, we encourage you to order our 1-Year Compliance Plan so that you will automatically receive the updated Utah poster. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the plan year, you can always count on Poster Compliance Center to keep your business in compliance!