South Dakota Minimum Wage

Like many other U.S. states, South Dakota’s minimum wage is set to increase on January 1, 2020.

The Rushmore State’s minimum wage is adjusted annually based on any increase in the cost of living, as measured by the Consumer Price Index published by the U.S. Department of Labor.

As in previous years, the Minimum Wage notice will be included on our South Dakota poster as a courtesy to our customers and for informational purposes only. The notice is not a required posting.

New Minimum Wage for South Dakota

Wage Rates for Non-Tipped & Tipped Employees

Effective January 1, 2020, the minimum wage for employees who do not receive tips will increase to $9.30 per hour.

For tipped employees, the minimum wage will increase to $4.65 per hour. Employers must keep a record of all the tips their employees receive. In addition, employers are required to make certain that tipped employees are paid no less than the full minimum wage when their tips and the $4.65 minimum wage are combined.

Exemptions to the Minimum Wage

Under South Dakota’s Minimum Wage law, seasonal amusement and recreation businesses are exempt from the standard minimum wage, as well as the following workers:

  • Babysitters
  • Outside salespeople
  • Trainees under age 20
  • Apprentices
  • Those with a developmental disability

Compliance Made Easy!

If you have not already done so, we encourage you to order our 1-Year Compliance Plan. Under the plan, you will automatically receive the updated South Dakota poster in plenty of time prior to January 1, 2020, when the new minimum wage goes into effect. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the plan year, you can always count on Poster Compliance Center to keep your business in compliance!