Minnesota’s Department of Labor & Industry just released the 2018 minimum wage notice, which has a revision date of October 2017. All wage rates reflected on the poster are effective January 1, 2018.
Minimum Wage Rates for 2018
The minimum wage for large employers is $9.65 per hour. A large employer is defined as any business with annual gross revenues of $500,000 or more.
The minimum wage for small employers is $7.87 per hour. A small employer is defined as any business with annual gross revenues of less than $500,000.
Training, Youth, & J-1 Visa Wage
A minimum wage of $7.87 per hour also applies in the following instances:
- Training wage – may be paid to 18- & 19-year-old employees during their first consecutive 90 days of employment
- Youth wage – may be paid to employees who are 17 years old or younger
- J-1 visa wage – may be paid to employees who work in hotels, motels, and other similar establishments under a summer work/travel Exchange Visitor (J) non-immigrant visa
Overtime is calculated as time and one-half the employee’s regular rate of pay, which kicks in after 48 hours for small or state-covered employers, and after 40 hours for large and federally covered employers.
Last but certainly not least, employers may not terminate, discipline, threaten, penalize, or discriminate against employees related to their compensation and other privileges of employment for reporting a violation of a law or refusing to participate in any activity that is a violation of a law.
We Can Help You Stay in Compliance
Order our OneSystem 1-Year Compliance Plan, and you will automatically receive the updated Minnesota poster as soon as it becomes available. And because we provide free poster updates for mandatory changes, no matter how many occur during the 12-month period, you can count on us to keep you in compliance!