Employees in Maine will soon get a minimum wage hike, so we are watching closely for the updated poster. Due to a new law that passed in the November 2016 election, the state’s minimum wage will be on a path to $12.00 an hour, with the first increase occuring on January 1, 2017.

Breakdown of the Minimum Wage Changes

The minimum wage will increase to $9.00 per hour as of January 1, 2017, followed by annual increases of $1.00 until it reaches $12.00 by 2020. Thereafter, increases will be based on the Consumer Price Index.

The new minimum wage law also includes benefits for tipped workers, who must be paid no less than $5.00 per hour starting January 1, 2017. As of January 1, 2018, and every January thereafter, the minimum wage paid to tipped employees will be increased by $1.00 until it reaches the same amount as the annually adjusted minimum wage for employees who do not receive tips.

We’re Here to Help You Stay in Compliance

If you sign up for our OneSystem 1-Year Compliance Plan, you will automatically receive the updated Maine minimum wage poster, with any other required updates, once it becomes available. Plus, the plan includes free automatic updates, no matter how many changes happen during the year. Sign up today, and let us take the burden of being in compliance off your shoulders.